Design Movie theater looking lighting for musical

curt410

Hey all! I'm new to CB so bare with me here.
In our current musical the cast is sitting as if they were all in a movie theater watching a scary film. They all face the house and look towards the catwalk at the back. The director has asked for some kind of projector looking beam to reflect off of the mid traveler during the scene. I was thinking a unfocused gobo rotater, but not sure how that would work. Any ideas??

Hey all! I'm new to CB so bare with me here.
In our current musical the cast is sitting as if they were all in a movie theater watching a scary film. They all face the house and look towards the catwalk at the back. The director has asked for some kind of projector looking beam to reflect off of the mid traveler during the scene. I was thinking a unfocused gobo rotater, but not sure how that would work. Any ideas??

A gobo rotator is certainly not a bad solution. I am pretty sure we have discussed this before, so a search may help you as well.

You may also think about doing a flicker wheel, which is basically a slotted disk on a motor that you put in front of the lens of the fixture to create a flicker effect. It is the kind of thing you could build yourself if you are up to it. Of course the simplest solution is to just write an effect that makes the light change intensities at random rates and fade times. You are just looking to make some kind of abstract look that suggest movie. If the director wants to see the beam in the air, then you will need a haze machine.

Ah, 13. Fun show.
Why not just use a projector and make your own FX loop with a video camera? Throw it out of focus and you'll still get the flickering light on faces without seeing what the image is. I've also done a TV effect with an LED by setting the colors at 50% and using bump buttons to create the flicker. It worked very well.

Here's one option that doesn't require any cue fx programming, might work on a non-dim circuit too.