Moving Fountain

Hey Guys! I'm new to Control Booth and this will be my first post. Sorry if I put this in the wrong section, I'm still trying to figure my way around here.

So, I am making a fountain show and would like to have an electric motor to rotate some of my fountains. However, I would like this to be controllable via DMX Interface timeline. The elements I would need to control would be, speed and direction. How could I hook up a typical electric motor to a DMX Interface or what can I do to alter a normal motor so it is compatible.

Here is a video of what I want to make: YouTube - Moving Fountain test

Thanks!

So what you are asking is how to turn motors on and off. You are using them to rotate the fountains, what size motors? I believe you can use a DMX controlled relay to turn it on and off. You could also use a timecode or music sensitive program to control the DMX.
Welcome to the board. Stop by the new member board if you have a chance.

Last edited:
So what you are asking is how to turn motors on and off. You are using them to rotate the fountains, what size motors? I believe you can use a DMX controlled relay to turn it on and off. You could also use a timecode or music sensitive program to control the DMX.
Welcome to the board. Stop by the new member board if you have a chance.

Basically, all I need to have control over is

1) When they're on/off
2) What direction there moving
3) Their speed

Control over on/off is easy, the aforementioned DMX relays. Speed/Direction are more complex. A regular, garden-variety single phase AC motor tends to be single direction, single speed. Some additional wiring and cost can give you reversible, but still single speed. Moving to three phase AC motors, along with phase adjusting electronics, will give you control over speed and direction ('off' being zero speed at that point).