Automated Fixtures Moving Heads For A School Theatre (Beams?)

paulslhac

Ok, Hi all and thankyou for viewing this. Its great to have such an easy, friendly community out there.

Im doing some research in regards to moving heads for a high school in Australia. We have a very well equipped venue with over 30 LED par cans, 30 conventional theatre lights and a sound setup capable of outdoor rock concerts.
Anyway, getting off the topic of sound before I get carried away, Im continually coming accross 'Beam' moving heads. I did a show recently with a production company who used 4 beam movers and used them at FOH as an 'audience pleaser'. I will admit these were used outside.

My question is simple, are there many differences between a beam and a profile/spot moving head? Im a complete novice to beam angles etc.

The simple answer is yes, there are differences, but the definition of "many" is up to you.

Beam Fixtures, typically specialize in very narrow beams (as the name suggests) for aerial effects (which really benefit from haze or fog). Most of these fixtures have beam angles around 2 degrees, and never really more than 5deg. While they all have gobos in them, the gobos are used as beam shapers, and depending on the fixture do not necessarily project well. Several of them have frost filters as an effect that can be rolled in to make a pseudo wash.

Spot/Profile fixtures specialize in gobo projection, often with multiple wheels, and effect wheels. Their beam angles (which can often be varied) typically don't go down below 10deg. If you are looking to project gobos on anything, this is really the way to go.