Need any help and tips possible.

So basically I'm a sophomore in high school and our lighting guy just left. I have now been thrown behind the wheel with two weeks until our spring play seusical opens. Any help or tips would be great. I have done basic lighting control and know how to program our board but As far as designing the lighting and all of that I am clueless.

I not familiar with Sussical so I'm no help there. I always start with the McCandless Method add some back light and downlight, maybe double up on the cross lights and/or add sidelights. I'm in a similar situation although I've been to college for lighting just haven't done any in 5 years and it was 3 1/2 weeks out. I did volunteer to help though and was basically given control over the whole design immediately because the director has also had to do the lights the last 2 years and had to run the sho off the subs because there wasn't time to program.

So I have the backlight down and sadly have no control over where the lights are placed only where they face. would a rough sketch of this help at all?

A sketch couldn't hurt

I don't do any serious design work, I'm mostly an audio guy, but I usually approach a basic musical or dance program with a zoning plan. Divide the stage into zones, say 3 across the front and 2 in the back. Allot of this will depend on the sets. Basically divide the stage into areas of isolation. Acomplish lighting these areas however you see fit, top light front light ect. Then worry about specials, cyc lights, ect. That's my quick and dirty approach to lighting a stage, and while not being pretty or perfect it gets photons on stage so aunt jean can see little suzie sing and dance.