Microphones Need Help... Impossible venue to mix in

Hey guys, first post Ive made on Control Booth...

I am a high school student in charge of setting up the sound system for our improv comedy group. Heres the setup:

Location: HS Commons (i.e. tiled floors, cement walls, no sound absorbtion whatsoever)
Audio: 3 Self Powered JBL speakers (1 left of stage, 1 right of stage, and 1 in back), 9 wireless Shure bodypacks (for improv performers- each wears a thin headworn style microphone), also we use 1 wireless handheld mic for the podium where we explain the games/skits. We mix on a Soundcraft Series 2 board.

Our problem is because of the floors/venue in general we struggle when it comes to making the performers audible. What is loud in front by the speakers gets muddied and incomprehensible to those who sit in the back. We have tried EQing the space, cutting out bass and mids and boosting treble, but then the performers sound awful and unnatural. How would you recommend making the room sound better so every one can hear the performers and they sound natural as well?

Using the boards eq is an okay for a little while. You need an actual eq to take specific frequencies and you shouldn't need to remove them completely. Another thing that could help is the way you aim your speakers. How tall is the ceiling how wide and long is the space. And where are you setting the stage?

Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk

1st off a general rule about EQ. With cheap EQ (and even with expensive EQ) it is usually a better idea to cut than to add. Not always the case but EQ is a phase cancellation technique and can create many additional problems if you don't know what you're doing. With your speaker set up, you sound like you've created a standing wave/ phase cancellation nightmare.

2nd - You say you have 3 speakers - 1 left of stage, 1 right of stage, and one in back?