Need help in identifying this spotlight

levinll

Purchased it at an estate sale. No sign of a manufacturer on it.

I have no background at all regarding the theater so I was hoping someone on this forum might be able to help me identifying what this is and what time period it might have been used in.

Thanks you in advance for your help.
20191224_071920.jpg

20191224_072003.jpg

20191224_072014.jpg

20191224_071937.jpg

Almost, but not quite, an Altman 366-8x8 or 8x11 ERS, common in the mid-to-late 1960s. I suspect yours is the model just prior to this one. Are the dimensions the same?

Attachments

• 366-8X8.pdf
    169.4 KB · Views: 199
Knobs would say Century if so, probably the case of Altman #366. Pre-Hammertone Brown. What lamp is it using Medium Pre-Focus? I have the hammertone brown version in collection if photo's are needed to verify.

You are speaking a totally different language that me ! LOL
@levinll Permit me to translate for you from Ship's post in his native 'Ship-Speak':
When Bri' posted: "Knobs would say Century if so, probably the case of Altman #366. Pre-Hammertone Brown. What lamp is it using Medium Pre-Focus? I have the hammertone brown version in collection if photo's are needed to verify. "

I believe he was saying: Your photo could be either of two units, an American Century Strand from the early 1970's OR an Altman from the same vintage.
If he unit was a Century Strand, "Century" or "Century Strand" would've been cast into the handles of the vertical tilt locks.
Since "Century" is NOT cast into the tilt lock knobs, the unit is most likely the Altman and from their pre-Hammertone Brown period.

Next; Bri's asking what lamp and socket is installed within your fixture: He's suggesting a likely lamp and socket would be a Medium Pre-Focus based lamp in a Medium Pre-Focus socket. (In my memory; possibly a 750T12/9 or even a 1MT12/9) This lamp and socket would've been common to either / both the Altmans and Century Strands of the era.