Need Some Live Show Technology History Help Before March 4

JohnHuntington

I’m on sabbatical this semester to work through some ideas I’ve been kicking around in my head for many years about the maturation of live show technology. While of course there is always room for additional innovation, it seems to me that--after a period of fairly rapid and intense development--we now have a large group of mature, well-known production technologies and techniques associated with those technologies. If you see the latest Taylor Swift stadium mega spectacular or a well-funded bar/bat mitzvah, on both shows you can see video walls, truss, chain motors, wireless mics, powered speakers, moving lights, lasers, etc, with all of it controlled by a number of more or less standardized computerized controllers (you might see the same console, in fact, on both events). That is a very different world than the one I graduated into from college in 1985, and also very different from our world early in my career when there were continual disruptive technological developments.

To establish and sequence trends, I’ve been working for too many hours on a fancy timeline which you can view, and I'd love to get some feedback on it this week. I have details and the link on my website here.

I wouldn't say anything is stable or static right now! We are right in the middle of a massive evolution of both control and lighting technologies. What you see this year will be history a year or two from now. We are seeing the end of conventional dimmer systems with the introduction of LED systems, which most often include their own on-board PWM type dimming. In addition, the world of DMX dominance is on the verge of massive change!