New Dude from California

musictom

Hi,

Thought I'd do the right thing and introduce myself here. I'm Tom, 47, and by day (and several evenings, lol) I am in charge of the music and audio/lighting/video technology for a church in California. I have a Bachelor's in Piano Performance, and am fairly savvy when it comes to audio (can get around our M7CL pretty well), and am continuing to build my home studio around Logic 8.

When it comes to lighting, however, I am woefully uneducated. I can describe three and four source lighting, I know blue goes on one side, and amber on the other, :), and I know the difference between a par, fresnel and a Leko, but after that, fuggetaboutit. I'm looking forward to gleaning all kinds of information from this board, and if I can contribute, well, that's even better.

Cheers!

Tom

Welcome, musictom. It's nice to have someone on CB who's the same age as me. I am almost the opposite of you: while I have knowledge of stage lighting (been doing it 32 years); beyond the basics, I don't know so much about sound. Never touched a digital console. But I'm pretty good at ground-rigging line arrays and still know the names of what all the parts are. I was on a call recently where all of us lighting people were working sound. The road guy handed us a stage plot and said, "mic the stage." The others all looked at me. I said okay. It's just like a light plot. It says we need 5 Beta-58s on straight stands across the front of the stage, Horns get 421s and 409s, 57s on the guitar amps, etc. I said I'll do the drums, as those are somewhat tricky sometimes... Only had to ask the road guy a few questions here and there. I have worked many times with Clair Bros., and had the first 12AMs in the city.