New from NU

TheSwami

Hi guys,

My name's Jeff, and I'm an undergraduate lighting designer/electrician at Northwestern. We don't have a terribly strong lighting design program in terms of classes for undergrads, but we have a mountain of student theatre productions and only a handful of designers, so we get lots of practical experience. Right now I'm trying to find my into the Chicago theatre world as an electrician, and figure out where my interests with lighting lie.

I've been cruising these boards for a little while now, thought it was about time I popped in to say hello!

Welcome to the booth. Good luck on your search for what gets you going. If you ever have questions, feel free to bounce them off us. With the range of members we have from students to pros to vendors and manufacturers we can usually answer almost any question. Also, don't hesitate to jump in and answer questions or offer help where you can, that is what makes this community work! The search feature is great for weeding through the vast amounts of info already on the site and do be afraid to bring back old threads if they pertain to new questions you have. Above all, enjoy your time here!

Oh, if you have any photos of your work or a website, we love to see that stuff, so post it!

We don't have a terribly strong lighting design program in terms of classes for undergrads, but we have a mountain of student theatre productions and only a handful of designers, so we get lots of practical experience.

In a lot of ways, that practical experience can be more important than the design classes. Try to keep a photo record of your design work as well as your old plots and paperwork for your portfolio. These photos, more than anything short of actually seeing a show you designed, will give people an idea of your design style, and whether it's right for their projects.

Right now I'm trying to find my into the Chicago theatre world as an electrician, and figure out where my interests with lighting lie.