CJWahl

HI! New to the forum; I am a teacher at a high school in SE Michigan.

I am working with a Strand Multi-Q lighting console dating from the 1970s, and am looking for support from knowledgeable people, who have experience with older lighting and sound equipment.

Even though my first degree was in technical theater, my concentration was in costume design and construction, properties and makeup. I haven't seen or used a light board in over 35 years, and without a user manual, the students and I have to rely on the hunt-and-peck method of console use. A sometimes exciting, but time-consuming method of learning about lighting technology.

Carol

Welcome Carol! Good to have another Metro Detroiter here on CB. Where are you located?

There is a great knowledge base here in the archives, and some insightful and experienced members. If you cannot find what you are looking for after searching the forums, do not hesitate to post a new thread.

~Dave

HI! New to the forum; I am a teacher at a high school in SE Michigan.

I am working with a Strand Multi-Q lighting console dating from the 1970s, and am looking for support from knowledgeable people, who have experience with older lighting and sound equipment.

Even though my first degree was in technical theater, my concentration was in costume design and construction, properties and makeup. I haven't seen or used a light board in over 35 years, and without a user manual, the students and I have to rely on the hunt-and-peck method of console use. A sometimes exciting, but time-consuming method of learning about lighting technology.

Carol

EDIT: Does it actually work ?.

That's a console that is long past retirement age. I last used one in '83 or so.

From what little I can recall from 30 years ago, it's a manual build board in that you set levels from the scene faders, then record to cue.

You can then load the cues onto one of 2 playback faders. The channel intensity levels can be viewed on the monitor.