New to board if not theater

Spikesgirl

Okay, so just came on board today and really should be working on my renderings instead of messing about on the computer. I've been working in the theater since 1974 and professionally for about 20 years. My original discplines were scenic artist and carpentry, but then a work-related injury resulted in some pretty serious weight restrictions and some changes. I know work as a resident stage manager and set/lighting designer for a community theater. I work in the front office during the day and have had had several plays/ musicals produced and published, so I like to think of myself as an all-around sort of techie.

I'm married to a sound tech/designer and our son is currently working in NYC for a Broadway designer (he's a model builder).

Am hoping to be able to lift...ahem...learn some new stuff and meet some new contacts.

Charlie

"Once you go black, you never go back"

Welcome Aboard! I was hoping you'd get around to the intro. I've been enjoying your posts. You've been doing your reading so you probably know the regular stuff but here goes anyway. Ask what you want. Answer what you can. The only stupid question is the one that has been asked 3 times before and you didn't search for. :mrgreen:

Got to figure out a way to keep thee and me from getting mixed up! When I started in tech, very few women were involved (other than costuming). by using Charlie, I got jobs that might otherwise have been closed to me. My dad was very progressive and by the time I entered high school, I had basic carpentry and electrical skills, along with being able to strip down a motor and put it back together. Then my mom said she wanted me to be a secretary - not! She never did approve of my career, but that's okay.