Newbie on the board (But been in Theatre for over 35 years!)

Hi all!

I'm really a musician (Been in pits since 1981), but have ended up here because I'm trying to get a church up and running with cool stuff.

In particular, I just purchased them a used Times Square Follow Spot. It has a 1500W P40S Halogen bulb.

My questions:

The new Times Square Follow Spots have 100W bulbs. Are the new ones more efficient, and thus need less initial lumens to get the same result? Or do I perhaps have the wrong bulb?

Or did someone decide that 1500w continuous on a single circuit was a bad idea?

AS to that last point, LEDs seem to be the rage in everything. It seems to me that 39000 lumens is a lot for even an LED array, but are there LED replacements for my follow spot?

Cooler and less power seem like good things, even if I have to trade some output for it!

Thanks in advance!

Phillip

Welcome Phillip! Good to have you here. I moved this post to the Lighting Forum so it is posted in the proper place. A lot of members do not regularly visit the New Member Board. You should get some good replies here.

Enjoy your time here on CB!

~Dave

Hi @Phillip Brown !

Can you post some pictures and/or model numbers for both the spot you purchased and the 100w version you're comparing it to? I have never seen an incandescent/halogen spot go as low as 100w (though 360w ENX-based is common. You'd be hard-pressed to throw a rock and avoid hitting ten of them). The 1500w DTA lamp sounds about right for an older unit and shouldn't be a problem as long as its on its own 20 amp circuit. No 100w lamp I know of will fit in that socket. Maybe the 100w version you referenced uses a LED source?