Non-dim setting good enough for movers?

Chris Pflieger

I know this has come up before, but most of the threads were around a particular Colortran module.

So, if I have (NSI) Leviton NDS dimmers, would the non-dimmed setting be OK for using a moving LED head? Everything I see list this setting as producing non-regulated (dirty) power, therefore the SSR will be driven with a solid on signal, so it should be OK.

Any experiences with this dimmer?

Ugh. So much FUD and anecdotal evidence.

First, I've filtered out HID examples as I believe LED ML's are a whole different animal. Second, it seems like "non-dimmed mode" varies from mfgr to mfgr. Third, I really wish there was details attached to the claims that it "blew up my ML's".

I've done a few triac and IGBT dimmer designs (currently revising an IGBT design I've inherited at work), so I'd really like more of a technical explanation than, "the sine wave is modified". As an electrical engineer, I highly doubt the "SCR can't turn on till 20 volts theory. Is it the choke limiting current draw? Oscope captures would be great. Maybe I'll get some...

In my situation, I'd be putting less than 2A draw and the devices are rated for 100-240 VAC (i.e. switchmode power supplies). All the wires are run from knockouts on a rack of 12 channel dimmers to edisons on the pipe, so rewiring would a pain.

Does anyone make a rack mount DMX relay module?

A thought occurred to me: why don't I use the dimmer (non dim mode) to drive a 110 VAC contactor(s)? It'd be a lot cheaper.

If you have power at the rack and your homerun comes to the rack, Why not just swing a few of the circuits to a breaker and be done with it?

It's a forum, all opinions are welcome, most are unfiltered, and everything is anecdotal. If you want a definitive response for your fixtures contact the manufacturer. ETC supports running their LED products on a dimmer:

https://www.etcconnect.com/Support/Articles/Sensor3-Power-Control-System.aspx said: