OSHA training required in Nevada

ruinexplorer

Sherpa
CB Mods
Premium Member
Fight Leukemia
If you happen to work in Nevada and haven't heard, by January 1, 2018, you must have either your OSHA 10 (general industry) or OSHA 30 (if in a supervisory role) to work in the state in the entertainment industry. This blog post has some details, I am not endorsing their training as I know nothing about it. At this time, there seems to be a separation for the convention industry, but certain rental/staging companies aren't taking chances. Also, I have heard from some out of state people who come in on a contract basis have been asked for proof of completing this.

I don't have the answers as to details on this provision. I am not a lawyer. I just want to make others aware of it, especially if you may end up working in the state. Be aware that this may start to move to other areas with a large presence of entertainment workers.

Starting January 1, 2018 the State of Nevada will require specific workers in the
entertainment industry to complete an OSHA 10 hour (non-supervisory employee) or
an OSHA 30 hour (supervisory employee) safety and health general industry course
and receive a completion card within 15 days of hire.
The specific workers are ones whose primary occupation on site falls into one of
these categories:
 Theatrical scenery, rigging or props
 Wardrobe, hair or makeup
 Audio, camera, projection, video or lighting equipment
 Any other employees or trades which are related to or components of the items
described in 1, 2 or 3 and which are used for on in conjunction with the presentation or
production of:
 Live entertainment
 Filmmaking or photography, including without limitation, motion pictures
 Television programs, including, without limitation, live broadcasts, closed-
circuit broadcasts or videotape recordings and playback
 Sporting Events
 Theatrical performances