Outside Audio Mixing

lieperjp

Our school is having an end-of-year picnic, which is outdoors. We are having live music, which usually means garage bands. Usually each band is 1-2 electric guitars, 1 bass, and a set, but this can vary as our opener is a wannabe punk rock band and mixed in we have a ska band, an acoustical guitar duet, and several run-of-the mill bands who just like to play, well, loud. I've never done mixing outside before and I will be one of two board ops. The other board op has mixed outside before, but only once. And he's not that experienced to begin with. (Yes, Derek, I [BOLD] DID [/BOLD] just start a sentence with a conjunction.) So, I was wondering if you have any tips you'd like to share? I believe we'll be using direct boxes for the guitars which for the most part will NOT be amped on stage, wired mics (with very colorful wind muffs!) for the acoustical guitar and anything else. Vocals we'll use new wireless Sure mics (also with the colorful wind muffs) to save time and energy messing with cords. It's in a semi-wooded area, bands on a stage. Stage monitors and two or four speakers (oh, what to call them. Not really house speakers. Hmm.)

...(Yes, Derek, I [BOLD] DID [/BOLD] just start a sentence with a conjunction.)...
Like I'd even notice.:)

From a lighting guy who knows enough to be dangerous when mixing audio...

High humidity can play tricks on you, especially with reverb/delay settings.
You've already addressed the mic wind-noise issue; much more important if you're mic-ing a symphony.
The wind can actually seem to blow all your high frequencies away.
The subs have nothing but the ground to which to couple, so try to bring twice as many.
The people in the back will always want the PA turned up, and the people in the front will usually want it turned down. Tell them to switch!
Wear a hat and sunscreen, and insist on a pop-up type canopy over FOH, preferably the scrim-type.
Don't forget the cooler and ice.