P28S and BTR, Out of the Box Thinking

Ladies and Gentlemen,

As you may tell, I am new to this forum. In my searches of the last two weeks, I believe that you may be the only ones able to help me.

First of all, I am a retired telecommunications engineer. In college, I minored in technical theater and was trained in lighting, lighting design, set design and construction. Much of my early career was spent in
television engineering with much of that in maintenance and maintenance supervision. Working with studio lighting and repairing instruments was all part of the job.

This leads me to today. I have volunteered in the theater of the local community college for the last several years. About three years ago, they underwent a major renovation. As part of the contract, new instruments were provided. One particular instrument is giving them problems. It is an Altman 1KAF-MPF 6” fresnel. The instrument itself appears to be fine, it is the P28S socket for the 1KW BTR lamp that is giving them no end of trouble.

This is what brings me to you. Yours is the only site I have found that addresses the burning and arcing problems they are experiencing.

Last week, as we were hanging instruments for a show, two more failed. The lamps exhibited bad burns and signs of extensive arcing around the center terminal. The socket center contact was very badly burned, pitted and discolored to the point that it looks rusty. The rest of the interior was heavily blued from heat and the 250 degrees C rated insulation to the center terminal was melted and pealed back a good inch or more.

Many of you have seen this and it is nothing new. I know that at least one of your members has had good luck cleaning and resurfacing the P28S sockets, but that is not why I am writing.

I am going to go outside of the box with an observation of the socket and the base of the BTR. Please be patient with me.