Patching Wireless Lights...

dwardMICS

Introduction: I am a teacher. My main lighting system is in another space, but the light board travels to my classroom. It is connected via a wireless showbaby. Zero problems as it was set up by professionals.

I got a new set of toys: 9 Chauvet DJ Feedom Par Hex-4 lights and a D-Fi Hub. I plan to use these in my classroom to actually teach how to use the console, and also travel to my main space as added lights for my regular system. I plan to use them in a master/slave configuration.

Lighting Console: ETC Element with updated fixture library.

I have spoken to Chauvet tech support who said my issue is the console.

Since this system will be patched to the wireless hub, it's going into universe 2. I patched one of the fixtures to 2/1-12 in it's 12 channel configuration using the ETC fixture library. Under interface is shows sACN, EDMX, and DMX having a *. It also does display an output range of 0-255 based on intensity.

So seems like it should be working! Except the first light (master) is strobbing green lights and does not respond to other commands when set to DMX profile D 1. When I set the dmx profile to D 512, I can control the intensity, but no other controls.

Any advice or suggestions you brilliant people can suggest?

Since Chauvet will tell you it’s the console, and ETC will tell you it’s the fixture, and the wireless people will tell you it’s the console or the fixture...
Start by directly connecting a cable from the console to the fixture. If it works, the problem is the wireless.
Find another identical console — take a fixture somewhere else if you have to — to confirm it’s not the particular console you’re using. If it works, get your Element serviced.
Find a different console (not an Element) with similar features. If it works, report the problem with the Element to ETC. They are responsive, they’re a great company.
Test with more than one fixture. If it’s one particular fixture, get it serviced.