Design Please help :( New Cafetorium

ttocsared

Hello all,

The school I work at is adding onto the building and will be constructing a newcafeteria in the high school with a stage where productions will be held, (wedon't have an auditorium so I can't complain). They have asked me to come upwith what lighting we will need for theatre productions. I am new to this so Ireally need any help you might be able to give. We do one acts musicals, andtraditional plays. They haven't given me a budget. I know I can't just come upwith the "mother of all lighting requests or I won't get anything but I amlooking for what you think we would need as far as middle of the road fixturesand board. We also want some to be portable.

Thank you in advance for any help.

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome ttocsaraed, you've come to the right place, [-]one thing tho, the blue font on a grey background is difficult to read. [/-]
Here is one thing from the WIKI: cafetorium - ControlBooth
There are also other variants of the name, auditeria, gymatorium, gymnatorium and others.
More information is called for, how big is the stage, where will it be located in relationship to the rest of the space, what kind of power will be available, the list goes on and on. You are sort of in a Catch-22 situation, no budget till you know what you need, and you can't really begin to plan without a budget. A search should bring up lots of hits, I remember one about protecting the main curtain from the well catsuped tater-tot projectiles.
The lowest budget option might be shoe box dimmers in various locations, several over the audience to provide front light on the stage and ers spotlights, then more on several electrics, usually pipe battens over the stage.
Here is some basic info from Mainstage (pdf warning) http://www.mainstage.com/PDFs/lighttheory7.pdf
Do you have any basic stagecraft of lighting books available? Do any local libraries?