The above Ad will no longer appear after you Sign Up for Free!

Plots and Hots

Discussion in 'Lighting and Electrics' started by Radman, Apr 10, 2004.

1. Radman

Radman Well-Known Member

Hey y'all! I am a freshman in high school and self proclaimed TechDir there. I also work at The Duluth Playhouse as a lighting intern and a PEP (traveling show) Techie.
    I have two questions:

-Firstly, I am looking for a demo, or better yet, free program for doing basic paperwork like schedule hookups and inventory, etc. I also want it to be able to do 2d plots. I dont really need 3d, I am just looking to be able to print light plots.

-And secondly, I am looking at maybe swapping my baby zooms fo some newer lights. I have ruled out Shakes, it is just way too hot. I am now leaning away from SL's, I hear they are flimsy. I was just wondering if the Source 4's heat up fast and especially if the yoke gets hot, because I burned my arm on the yoke of a shakes my first time and I don't want that to be the case. I would be purchasing them at my school.

Please help!

2. JasonC77

JasonC77 Member

Source 4's are typically standard these days. great optics, good color temp, hight quality build.

Personally, I would not decide which light you get based on how hot it gets... unless, that is, you are using it as a followspot. If a light gets too hot during a focus call, get some gloves and wear long sleeves. Remember... we buy lights for what they look like on stage... when it comes down to it, the electricians comfort is a distant second or third on the priority list.

3. Radman

Radman Well-Known Member