Production Manager Interview Advice?

Bodensiek

Greetings, all!

I just landed a phone interview for a Production Manager position, and I'm trying to prepare for it! I've been working in a 750 seat roadhouse as the ATD for nearly five years and I'm comfortable being the jack-of-all-trades tech lead that schedules and trains the crew, but I know production management is largely budget management focused, and though I have input on our yearly capital spending now, the financial side of theatre is a little out of my wheelhouse. I would love any input or resources that would introduce me to that side of things (how to approach creating a budget, how to read a contract, how to negotiate, etc). Any production managers here that would be willing to impart a little wisdom? Any specific questions I should be prepared to answer? Is there any industry standard software I should be aware of?

Thank you!

What kind of venue/company? What I do as a PM/Production Coordinator at a two venue road house and what a PM of a regional theatre does are worlds different. For me, its not really creating a budget, its more of digesting a rider, creating ppwk on how much it will cost to do, negotiating that, then filling calls, lining up vendors, getting settlement costs to the promoter, making sure the people I hire actually do the job, etc. In addition to that you have to keep the building operating. How much staff is below the position? Is it a boot on the ground position or just office based? PM is a term like SM... what it means can be a totally different job depending on where the job is.