Projection for High School Production

Ashley26

Hi everyone!

I'm a high school theatre teacher and am new to using projections in productions. Our theater has a standard Epson projector installed above the tech booth that administration uses for meetings. I attempted to use this projector to project snowfall onto the cyc - it worked fairly well except that the projection went onto the actors. This happened with any background - rain, snowfall, moon etc. was all projected on the actors. There is no room for a rear projector - there's only a foot between the wall and the cyc. Is there a specific projector that we need to rent or purchase? Or is there a way to make the image not project onto the actors? I'm sorry that this is such a basic question - I'm learning this whole projection business.

Thank you so very much!!

-Ash

I don't personally do a whole lot of projection-based work, but the concept here would be pretty simple - locate the projector somewhere that it won't hit the things or people on the stage you don't want it to hit, but will hit your background. High-mounted projectors come to use, where the angle is very steep and mounted high enough to clear the talent on stage (similar concept to a ceiling-mounted projector in a classroom for a smart-board). You might look at a situation where you put a projector closer to the stage at a higher location and change the angle of attack so it doesn't hit the actors straight-on.

That said, even in Broadway productions, particularly tours with only a couple people on stage, it isn't uncommon based on the location of the projector to inadvertently hit the talent with the rain or snow. I've seen it several times and it might just be something to "deal with."

Something else I've seen used on Broadway tours but don't have personal experience with is mirrors on the projectors in situations where the throw distance or mounting isn't optimal. I am not sure how that would help you in this situation, though.