Proper Source Four 750 Spotlight Configuration and Safety

logan683

Firstly, let me start by saying hello and yes, this is my first post. Not sure how I ever missed this place.

I have a situation and question I would like to post. Basically, it's the email I just sent to ETC, but I am also seeking the support and advice of other professionals and experienced, knowledgeable individuals. I would like to say that I believe it is obvious what my thoughts are about safety and operation in a situation such as this.

Thank you for your input. The email went as follows:

***I am a lighting designer and I was recently working with a community theatre on a show and encountered a situation where I am seeking official manufacturer support and guidance for proper operator safety and equipment usage.

On this particular production, I was asked to come in late to fill in as a spotlight operator. The two Source Four 750 fixtures being used were hung on the top rail of a catwalk, which, if not being used as spotlights (in this particular situation), is perfectly acceptable. However, in such a configuration, myself and the other spotlight operator were having difficulty operating the fixtures in this manner since the pan screws (which I don't think should ever be removed for operation in this manner) had been removed from the yokes which made them extremely jumpy and look very sloppy in operation. Even using the two bolt-on handles did not help this. I did not have an opportunity to fix this upon walking to my station and sitting down as I was not given an opportunity until just before curtain.