Putting wheels on theatre flats, and other ideas for a newbie.

cmbtch43

I'm very new to set design and construction, and have just been given job of designing and building the set for the Wizard of Oz for our High School Musical.
My set construction is limited to having helped put previous sets together, so I know how to build flats but that's about it.
Can someone please tell me how I would go about putting wheels on 4'x8' flats so they can be easily moved on and off stage, how I can brace them and what is the easiest way to put a brake on them other than using castors with brakes- can I use a wooden wedge on lever type thing?
We also have to build a "house" with door and window but I think I have head around how to do that as its only a flat with door and window built onto a truck with porch and roof.
My builder is going to be my husband as the teacher who usually builds set is unavailable.
Also any ideas as to how to do the yellow brick road would be helpful. Not allowed to put thinline and paint it on over stage, can't paint directly onto stage as polished wood and varnish. Lights and gobos out as other lighting will wash yellow out and will be ineffective. So that leaves me with vinyl that is painted.
In the past I have been Stage manager so I'm used to moving and storing set in very small spaces - this year I'm doing the lot.
Any ideas and advice would be so greatfully appreciated.

Many thanks
Christine

I wouldn't concern myself with putting brakes on anything that isn't being walked on. Unless you happen to work with a raked stage, they will stay put once you park them.

The easiest way I have found to get flats on wheels is to build 2x8 wheeled platforms and just mount them in the middle. You can throw some 2x4s on the sides to stabilize them.