Qlab of Windows

dbaxter

Well-Known Member
Premium Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2007
Location
Rochester, NY
Cue Player Premium (from my company) is intended to be the Qlab equivalent for Windows. The cost is such that we do not normally offer education discounts unless it is for a school district with need for more than 5 copies. I can't say much more on this forum, but please feel free to contact us from the web site.
 

Amiers

Renting to Corporate One Fixture at a Time.
Joined
May 28, 2009
Location
Phoenix, Az
I’ll recommend Venue Magic.

They use a timeline based system and pretty user friendly. You can demo their software for 15 days I think before you have to buy it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RonHebbard

John Scrip

Active Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2019
Location
Chicago area
Another Show Cue Systems user. After getting used to it, I don't miss QLab (although I still use it occasionally). I think the "Pro" version was around $120 and worth every cent.
 

ruinexplorer

Sherpa
CB Mods
Premium Member
Fight Leukemia
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Location
Las Vegas
So I obviously can't use Qlab for windows but is there a software that is similar for windows or software that is efficient on windows. (preferably free or has an education version)

Thanks
What parts of Qlab are you looking to replicate? There are a number of media server programs available for Windows.
 

Malabaristo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2008
Location
Wisconsin
If you are looking for audio only and free try MultiPlay.
https://www.da-share.com/software/multiplay/
...with the caveat that it hasn't been maintained or updated in about six years. It's a great program and I still use it occasionally on my Windows machines, but it definitely needs a little extra care at this point. MP3s will play, but you may run into sound quality issues with certain encodings--variable bit rate in particular is something I've noticed as problematic. WAV files are safe as long as they're 16b. If you have a WAV that's not playing correctly, then it was probably encoded at 32b. There are some other odd quirks here and there, but mostly it's consistent in whether it works or doesn't work. I've never had a situation where it seemed to work at first, then behaved differently during a show.
 

Footer

Senior Team
Senior Team
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2005
Location
Saratoga Springs, NY
Just buy a mac mini. It should be a dedicated machine anyway. Cuelab just works.... is worth it. I know its an expensive box but if your show depends on it... bite the bullet.
 

kenact

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2013
Location
Brooklyn, NY
I've been using QLC+ (qlcplus.org) for the past 5 years. I've used it to run over 50 theater productions, for lights, sound & sometimes video. It runs on Windows, Mac & Linux.
 

Users who are viewing this thread