Ray From Bermuda

OnTheRock

Hi there,

I'm living and working bermdua. At the beginning of this year, I joined up with Bermuda Musical and Drama Society, www.bmds.bm, to see if I could help out with lights. Something I've never done before. But what the heck.

After helping out with a number of shows to start, I 'firsted' and 'soloed' on Moliere's Sisterhood.

My thoughts on the whole adventure:
http://www.oneunified.net/blog/Personal/Lighting/index.blog

My second show, which was a blast, was '24 hours to curtain', where starting at 6 pm on Friday, six writers come in, write a ten minute play and have it ready for 8am saturday morning. The actors and directors come in then learn their lines, sound and lights come in read the scripts and put together some edits. The six plays get done at 8pm Saturday night. I was totally amazed at the actors being able to pull that off, off book. Out of about 20 actors and actresses, only one was out of his element.

The last show of this year I was co-LD on was a Jack and the Beanstalk Panto. A Panto is popular in the UK, but I'm not sure the US and CDN in this group will be too familiar with it. Any way, I wasn't too happy on the production on this one, as there was no 'dark' time to really do anything with lights. The script was last minute, stage settings were last minute, and costumes were last minute. I'm promised next year will be much better.

One question to start. I've been thinking of acquiring some moving lights and use them to make a light show done to music. After that, I'd like to use them in the theatre (where the players aren't miked or anything). How loud are modern moving heads (movement and fan wise)? Are they suitable for their adjustability, lighting, and gobo effects in small environment?

Ray.

That multi play program sounds great, concept to opening night in 24 hours is unimaginable for most playwrights.
If you want quiet moving lights of good expect to be spending about $1,500 US per at the very least.