Rear-projecting on a scrim at the front of the stage

jpe

Hi,

I'm fairly new to theatre as a director, and I'm interested in staging a scene where video is rear-projected on a scrim (or other material) downstage, with action visible on stage between the projector and the scrim.

To give you a little more detail, I want an actor watching TV, only instead of an actual TV it's a box with a projector in it and the image is being projected behind him (So, US --> DS, Projector, Actor, scrim)..I want it to remain fairly translucent, in a way that the audience can see both the image and the actor.

Will this work? And if so, what kind of material would you suggest?

Hi, jpe:

You will also have the full bright projector lamp shining straight into the audience's eyes. A scrim is not designed to handle the light the way a rear-projection screen is, i.e., absorb and diffuse it -- a scrim's job is actually to pass the light.

There ARE scrims of different opacities, so you might find one that works, but I think that the projection lamp will be a problem with any material that is transparent enough to see the actor behind it.

That's all I've got to offer. Sorry.

David

Hi,

I'm fairly new to theatre as a director, and I'm interested in staging a scene where video is rear-projected on a scrim (or other material) downstage, with action visible on stage between the projector and the scrim.

To give you a little more detail, I want an actor watching TV, only instead of an actual TV it's a box with a projector in it and the image is being projected behind him (So, US --> DS, Projector, Actor, scrim)..I want it to remain fairly translucent, in a way that the audience can see both the image and the actor.

Not going to work as you described. Consider:

Front projecting on the DS scrim (might work if the projector is bright and the images are contrasts. Try it first)
Turn things around and project on an opaque surface US do the actor. ( or RP if you prefer)