Recording on an LS9 console

msfixit

Hi All,
I'm still a huge newbie on the Yamaha LS9 mixing console and I've been asked to record a choir concert using it. Currently, I've only been able to record silence, and I think it's because all the tutorials I've been able to find are for concerts that they are using amplification, and I'm only using the board to record. Nothing else.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

I'm quite proficient on the LS9. and can hopefully answer any questions you might have.

Are you looking to record to an external device? (like a Tascam two-channel recorder) or use the built in mp3 USB recorder?

both are fundamentally the same. If you mix the whole show on the LS9 with headphones or something, you just route your outputs to your capture device instead of to the amplifiers.

If you could let us know what you are hopeing to capture the show with?
What other outputs or mixes are you using?
Do you have lots of inputs you are working with (and or are you mixing and balancing all the inputs in the LS9)?

So I presume you have discovered the USB "recorder" window with in the console. Your simplest bet though least flexible. Is to assign the single mic channel to both the L and R of your USB recorder. Stick a Thumdrive in and you are good to go. On my console for quick recording I have my Stereo L + R passed to a Matrix (3) in my case. where I crunch down on it with some compression and gain the signal back up. In which case I patch Matrix 3 in to both the Left and Right inputs on the "USB recorder"

The USB recorder just acts like any other output on the console. Just like the OmniOuts on the back of the console you can send any internal channel, mix, bus, to the 2 channels of the USB output. Yamaha does have some specifics as to what will work in the USB port. A "external HD" for instance will not work as a recording device. It must be some form of USB Thumbdrive.