recruiting

maggyx13

anyone know any good ways to recruit people for any type of tech crew?

(if this helps i'm a high school student who needs to recruit more people)

Best thing that has worked for me is to first take a look at your friends. These are people that you know that you can get along with. Think long and hard about which might be good for the job. In my experience, I have a friend that has a huge interest in tech, but sometimes his work ethic is non-existant. So, before you start asking people narrow down to who has a good work ethic. Next after you think that you might have a good candidate ask them to see if they are interested. If not, move on down the list.

thats my $.02

I would echo what Kevin said and add that if you are obviously having fun, other people will see that and want to have fun too. Beggars can't always be choosers, so you may have to let new help do the "fun jobs" while you do the less glamorous jobs, at least part of the time. Of course this is all in moderation, theoretically, they'll need to do the less glamorous jobs at some point so they need to learn how, and of course you dont want to sick someone with no experience in a situation where they are running a board for a critical show.

When I was just starting to introduce new people to our auditorium, I made the space available afterschool for interested kids to just come and plug in a mic and play with the effects or shine colored lights around the stage so they get a bit of a taste of what the stuff does and what can be done. The key here is to let them actually DO stuff too. It's a super scary feeling letting someone else sit down at the board, but they will enjoy it alot more if they get to "play with the little slidey things".

As you probably realize, in HS this is very important as you will be graduating in a few years, and need to have ‘young blood’ to fill in behind you too.