S4 lamp housing not working

dpak

Active Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2013
Location
PTC, Georgia
Hi everyone - this lamp housing isn't working. I've tried everything I know to check - it's not the lamp, there seems to be nothing wrong with the plug (and I've tried both an Edison and stage pin on it) and nothing seems to be obviously wrong with the rest of the wiring. Could the problem be the buildup in the terminal? If so, is there a way to clean it, or should I just buy a new terminal?
 

Attachments

Van

CBMod
CB Mods
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2006
Location
Portland, Or.
Socket looks really burnt. could be a wire broke in the base. could be the brass is burned back so badly that it's not making proper contact. Replace the base.
 

Amiers

Renting to Corporate One Fixture at a Time.
Joined
May 28, 2009
Location
Phoenix, Az
I’m sure he meant socket

upload_2019-8-28_16-10-18.gif
 

Amiers

Renting to Corporate One Fixture at a Time.
Joined
May 28, 2009
Location
Phoenix, Az
Definitely a burnt socket, best to buy a replacement socket, they are fairly cheap. And remember, don't use bulbs that came out of that light, they will just spread the socket rot like a disease. Always check the socket when swapping bulbs, easiest to catch earlier than later.
Lamp...
 
  • Like
Reactions: RonHebbard

Van

CBMod
CB Mods
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2006
Location
Portland, Or.

NateTheRiddler

Well-Known Member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2018
Location
Arizona, US