Control/Dimming Sad Obsession2

RahRah42

New Member
Joined
May 11, 2017
Location
New York
I've been tasked with checking to see if the obsession 2 works before the theater I'm working at gives it away. I've got two pairs of processors and the Batman board and I'm trying to set each pair up as primary/backup and it's not working. The manual makes it sound plug and play and I can't tell if I'm doing something wrong or the processors are that crappy. Any ideas?
 

Amiers

Renting to Corporate One Fixture at a Time.
Joined
May 28, 2009
Location
Phoenix, Az
Should be, but it depends on the patch of the rest of the setup down the line.

Should be Board > Switch(Optional for Preset Faceplates) > Brain > Dimmers

ETC has a 24/7 hotline 800-688-4116 I would call then first. Make sure you are sitting at the console.

Stuff they might make you do.

I would make sure that everything in your I/O settings are correct https://www.etcconnect.com/Support/Articles/ETC-Network-IP-Addresses.aspx

If all else fails save the show and do a Deep Clear to default everything https://www.etcconnect.com/Support/Articles/How-to-Deep-Clear-an-Obsession-Console.aspx
 

RonHebbard

Well-Known Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Location
Waterdown, ON, CA
I've been tasked with checking to see if the obsession 2 works before the theater I'm working at gives it away. I've got two pairs of processors and the Batman board and I'm trying to set each pair up as primary/backup and it's not working. The manual makes it sound plug and play and I can't tell if I'm doing something wrong or the processors are that crappy. Any ideas?
The last time I used an Obsession was in 1995 in Offenbach, Frankfurt, Germany. It was driving 621 channels. We had the processor located in the dimmer room off SR and the LX designer had 8 monitors set up at his table in the middle of the house. [One for his cues and 7 others displaying the levels of 100 channels each] I'll be polite and say the board was slow to boot. I'd arrive 15 minutes early daily to power the processor which then took a full 12 minutes to boot. It just sat there with a black screen and just when you were ready to swear NOTHING WAS HAPPENING, it would suddenly wake up and decide it wanted to be a lighting board. This was for the musical Tommy.
Toodleoo!
Ron Hebbard.
 

Amiers

Renting to Corporate One Fixture at a Time.
Joined
May 28, 2009
Location
Phoenix, Az
The last time I used an Obsession was in 1995 in Offenbach, Frankfurt, Germany. It was driving 621 channels. We had the processor located in the dimmer room off SR and the LX designer had 8 monitors set up at his table in the middle of the house. [One for his cues and 7 others displaying the levels of 100 channels each] I'll be polite and say the board was slow to boot. I'd arrive 15 minutes early daily to power the processor which then took a full 12 minutes to boot. It just sat there with a black screen and just when you were ready to swear NOTHING WAS HAPPENING, it would suddenly wake up and decide it wanted to be a lighting board. This was for the musical Tommy.
Toodleoo!
Ron Hebbard.
The OB2 was my first introduction to lighting consoles. I'd say it was 03? The setup we had was the brain always stayed on with a UPS backup SR with feeders directly below it that ran to the dimmers below SL wing then back out to EL1-4 and FOH positions.

I think in all the years I was there the brain only died once while I was there and because we were so close to Middleton we got a backup while ours was fixed.

I called the setup a Tank. Cause no matter what we did or how hard we pushed it she just kept going.

Never had an issue with it being slow or non responsive at all.
 

RonHebbard

Well-Known Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Location
Waterdown, ON, CA
The OB2 was my first introduction to lighting consoles. I'd say it was 03? The setup we had was the brain always stayed on with a UPS backup SR with feeders directly below it that ran to the dimmers below SL wing then back out to EL1-4 and FOH positions.

I think in all the years I was there the brain only died once while I was there and because we were so close to Middleton we got a backup while ours was fixed.

I called the setup a Tank. Cause no matter what we did or how hard we pushed it she just kept going.

Never had an issue with it being slow or non responsive at all.
The Obsession in Frankfurt ALWAYS worked and rarely hiccuped but DANG did it take forever to boot in the mornings.
First, power the processor. Second, boil the kettle. Third, wait for the kettle. Fourth, wait for the processor.
Sometime I'll have to tell you about my embarrassing experience with "Park".
Toodleoo!
Ron Hebbard.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MRW Lights

icewolf08

CBMod
CB Mods
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Location
Lititz, PA
In a dual processor OB2 setup there should also be an interface box (a dinky 1U device) that managed syncing the CPUs and keeping the system functional. Haven't worked on an OB2 in over 10 years, but I remember the last time we split the system apart to use the CPUs separately, it was a royal PITA to get them to sync back up when reunited. Let's just all admit that the OB2's idea of "Full Tracking Backup" was not nearly as elegant and useful as the Strand 500 series desks!
 

Calc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2004
Location
Mid-Michigan
Are you using a switch? If not and you've done the deep clear, you need to set it to emulate a crossover cable (or use one). Learned that lesson a few years back.

We've got one at a venue across town- Single processor and a console. Still fills all their needs. No inteligent fixtures in the inventory, and anyone who brings some carries a board too.