Shellac or Poly

ship

Senior Team Emeritus
Premium Member
Been years since I studied such things in school and with Shellac it would seem now a days, there ain't crushed up bugs involved with the former.

Bought some Shellac recently for a past daisy type "she loves me..." card project for the wifie. Turned out it more melted the pedals than preserved them.

So no given lots of Sellac available for her new dresser, what's the difference between it and Polyurathane in end result?

The solvents are different. Shellac is cut with alcohol. Shellac is easier to fix.

Poly is tougher. I have read that a lot of people are using the two together (i.e., Shellac with Poly over it on the high wear surfaces).

Shellac is also used as a separator layer between various stains and toners.

I would go with shellac for my highest quality work, and poly for everyday functional pieces.

There is fine construction and then there is theatre construction.

Been years since I studied such things in school and with Shellac it would seem now a days, there ain't crushed up bugs involved with the former........
So no given lots of Sellac available for her new dresser, what's the difference between it and Polyurathane in end result?

Yep Ship, Shellac is still made from the carapace of the Lac Beetle.
No bugs, no Beautiful finishes. After the bugs are euthanized < Humainly, I'm sure.> they are covered in Denature alcohol and the shellac is leeched from there little beetle bodies. Check out this place Shellac.net It's hard to believe these guys are as excited about shellac as they are, but they are. < maybe too many denatured alcohol fumes....>

Major difference between Poly and shellac is thickness of finish, resistance to nicking/scratching Water resistance, finish times, finishing process.

Shellac can be as thick as you want it, provided you put on enough coats. Poly is going to go on thicker and require fewer coats.