Shopping for Sound Schools

Hi all,

I'm currently a freshman at the University of North Dakota(aka Wintery Hell), majoring in Atmospheric Science. I was heavily involved in theater production in high school, and have slowly begun to realize that it might have been what kept me sane through all that time. As part of that realization I have begun to shop for some theater tech schools.

My interest is in sound reinforcement, not design. I see myself as more of a tech than a designer, that has always been my inclination. I guess my dream job would be a staff engineer at a resident theater.

I have found a couple schools that fit what I'm looking for, but I want to draw from the knowledge base that is CB and find some more.

Currently looking at:
Columbia Chicago(I've always wanted to live in Chicago anyway)
NY City College of Technology
Michigan Tech(Although I don't think I would get in)

If you want to get really deep into sound, look carefully and hard. There are lots of schools have sound concentrations involved in their tech theatre programs, but hardly provide enough of a basis to end up running audio for rock 'n roll gigs until you've racked up lots of experience post-college.

Have you looked into SAE at all? It's a very focused program that does not last 4 years, but does provide a Bachelor's degree, and has access to some really nice studios for practicing in. Unfortunately, I have yet to stumble across anyone who has gone through their program
News - SAE Institute