Simple Question

Madeen

I know my inexpertise is probably annoying, but I'm doing an independent study at my highschool, and I'm trying to put together a quick reference guide for the theatre equipment we have. We don't have manuals or anything, and though I've used the equipment for several shows in the past, I've never received any formal instruction in it's use.
The problem with our equipment is that the man who set it up did it alone, and never trained anyone to replace him. Unfortunately, he was banned from the school campus because he was buying alcohol for the students, and now we have a complicated setup that no one knows how to use beyond the basics.

So, here is a simple question that I'm sure qualifies me as a complete newbie:
Are channels generally used for single lights or groups of lights? With the setup that we have, it seems like the channels being used are set up with groups of similar lights of at least three.
The submasters are then groups of the channels, but there is no way to control individual lights. So, is that normal?

Thanks for your help.

every setup is different but yours is a common one. My suggestion would to just take the time to completly re work everything, Unlplug every fixture and the start lighting areas and patching accordinly. If your board has enough channles to opperate each light sepratley then that is an option also. The most important thing to look for and know is how many fixtures you can put on each circiut, if who ever set it up didnt have more than 3 per then that is what i would stick with. Go over that and you never know when you could pop a breaker mid show.

First of all, there are no questions that qualify you as a newbie. We are an educational forum so we are happy to help. You may want to browse our Wiki as there are many posts in the Glossary that define different pieces of gear and different parts of pieces of gear.