Simulated Lightbulb Shattering

Hey everybody, first post here!

I'm a high school student and I manage most things pertaining to tech in my high school drama department. Almost everything I know is self taught (a good and bad thing), and I'd like to pick the good minds of some of you far more experienced effects personnel.

We are performing the play "Wait Until Dark", and if you are familiar you will know there is a seen where the protagonist shatters some light bulbs on stage. I'd like to make a convincing effect for these without the danger of loose glass on stage. Is there a precedent for "stage" light bulb props? We will be doing about 14 shows, so an affordable and repeatable method would be preferred (all input is appreciated though, even if just stories! I love learning about this stuff). I've been thinking sugar glass or acrylic pieces, but I'm sure there's a more effective method.

If you need more information about our resources, I'd be happy to oblige (keep in mind we performed a labor-of-love Macbeth show last semester, so we aren't as affluent as we'd otherwise be). Thanks for the read!

EDIT: I noticed that this is "Lighting and ELECTRICS" not "Lighting and EFFECTS", and that this thread would better fit in the "Special Effects" thread section. Sorry!

So the actor is throwing light bulbs? Sounds like you are looking for a sugar glass effect. If so, look in to these. There may be others out there. This was just a cursory Google search.

There are also some tutorials online on how to make the formula yourself. Seems tricky though - I'd go store-bought.

If the light bulbs need to be "on" when shattered, boy I don't know what to tell you (other than recommending a very tightly-focused special on the sugar glass bulb).

According to wikipedia an actress goes around the apartment breaking all the light bulbs in the fixtures except one. It could be done with a lighting cue and a sound effect.