Slave Mode?

DCATTechie

Active Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2007
Location
Dublin, OH
When companies describe the modes the light can run in, as you all know there is Stand-Alone, DMX, and Slave mode? 2 are pretty much self-explanatory but what is slave mode? And how is it used?
 

Footer

Senior Team
Senior Team
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2005
Location
Saratoga Springs, NY
Set one unit in stand-alone, link to the rest with cable, and put the rest in slave. This makes the stand-alone the master, and the rest slaves. Basically, they will now all move "together", or at least on the same beat. This feature is in there for DJ's who don't want a controller, but just turn them on and let them go.
 

TechiGoz

Active Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Location
Adelaide, Australia & Singapore
Basically you have a Master and a Slave (or a number of slaves). Say you have some RoboScan 518's and you have them all linked via DMX. You put one on master, and the others on slave. Whatever the Master does, the slaves will emulate (copy) so all fixtures will be following the master and thus doing the same thing!

Its pretty handy for smaller gigs if you're on your own and you just want the lights doing something.
 

Edrick

Well-Known Member
Premium Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2007
Location
Boston, MA
Just remember in California to use the term Secondary, I remember hearing years ago on TechTV from Leo Laporte I think it was that using the term "Slave" was illegal or something along those lines when discussing Master and Slave on CD-Roms / HardDrives.
 

Footer

Senior Team
Senior Team
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2005
Location
Saratoga Springs, NY
Just remember in California to use the term Secondary, I remember hearing years ago on TechTV from Leo Laporte I think it was that using the term "Slave" was illegal or something along those lines when discussing Master and Slave on CD-Roms / HardDrives.
It's not illegal, just not PC
 

Grog12

CBMod
CB Mods
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2006
Location
Denver, CO
Just remember in California to use the term Secondary, I remember hearing years ago on TechTV from Leo Laporte I think it was that using the term "Slave" was illegal or something along those lines when discussing Master and Slave on CD-Roms / HardDrives.
It's not illegal, just not PC
Which is why I was going to refrain from the humor of this being posted in Feb.