Small headworn wireless mics

doive

Hi,
I'm new to this whole business so sorry if i don't give enough information or say the wrong things.

I took over as technical manager of a student theatre company (at durham uni, UK) at the beginning of this year. The first thing they asked me to do was investigate wireless mic systems and what we could possibly get. I've had no experience with headworn wireless mics though so have no idea what to look for.

These are the spec i need to comply to:
- Cost £200-450 (per unit - i need 3, budget may be slightly flexible if we make a profit on the upcoming production)
- mic size, as small as possible (the presiedent like this Audio technica and we have previously hired this Sennheiser
-Theatre size ~300-400 capacity
-wireless mic usage - we use them to mic singers in musicals (once yearly) and would hope to hire them out to neighbouring student theatre companies
-Current sound system mixing desk which runs into a separate 2kW power amp (can't remember the name) into 4/6 speakers, mid-range (i.e. not subs or tweets)
-We also have 2 sennheiser receivers which we can use, but onl handheld mics to go with them
- there is no other buildings near by which use wireless equipment so we have no danger of intereference

So my questions:
1) is this a good mic and/or good value for money at £250?
2) when it says it is "Terminated for Sennheiser wireless systems using Lemo connector" what does it mean? (i.e. can i easily put it into any body pack)
3)if i was to get that microphone what bodypak/receiver would you recommend?
4)anything else you recommend?

Thank you guys, if you can answer you'll help me out massively :D

Last edited:
The Audio Technica Microset is an excellent ear worn mic with a small profile. It is available from AT terminated for use with several different wireless system manufacturers.