Small theater upgrade questions

bdiddy

Thanks in advance for any and all help.

To cut right to the point, I'm on the board of a small (350) seat theater, which is looking to upgrade its lighting system. The catch is that the funding has come from sources which require us to move to LED lights. I'm very new to the whole world of theater lighting, let alone that of the LED sources.

We have two budget numbers to work with $14,000 and $30,000. We need to come up with a proposal at each funding level and the granting organization will decide which we get. If we get the $30,000 we have to remove ALL of our traditional sources as part of the agreement.

Our current setup consists of a combination of 6 Source 4 750w fixtures and a mix of other brands (some over 25 years old). In a perfect world, I would keep and use the Source 4's but my hands are tied at the higher funding level. I've listed a few facts below, but I was hoping people out there would have some idea where I can start looking.

Stage: 25' wide, 15' deep
Overhead bars: 18' high
Distance from furthest bar to stage: 35'

Some members of the theater staff are pushing to replace our ETC Express board with a Chauvet software solution. This is something I oppose, but would love to hear peoples opinions on.

Thanks again.

Akin to replacing a 1997 Ford Taurus sedan with a 2011 Kawasaki dirt bike.

I couldn't have said this better myself. I don't see why they're looking to spend money on a console when the budget is going to be pretty tied up in the LEDs (even $30k won't get extremely far in the case of LEDs, but it should get you a decent little system). An Express won't do too bad at controlling LEDs, but you may or may not struggle for control channels, depending on the channel count of your current board. Even if you did replace the Express with software, Chauvet is the last place I'd look; Chamsys being the first.

How many fixtures are you currently working with, including the +/- 25 year old instruments?