Sound Advice

I'd like advice on anything and everything to do with sound, specifically running it. Best equipment? I need advice on a set-up too. I have no experience in this, but am looking to learn, because I think it would be fun to do, for the sake of making a band or really anything using sound on a stage sound good.

You need to be waaaay more specific...we could just list the best equipment available, hundreds of thousands of dollars worth but there is no way a brand new band just starting out would be able to afford that stuff. You need to give us a budget. I.E. How many thousands of dollars are you going to be willing to spent on a sound system? You're going to need most likely at least $3,000 to get anything even worthwhile for a small venue. Even with used equipment you're going to need quite a bit of money. What Venue's are you going to be playing? Bars, Clubs, Performing Arts Centers, Concert Halls, Stadiums, Outdoors or Indoors? We need way more information and explination.

As for running the sound for a show, try searching this forum, or even google for information.

Equipment gets pretty much exponentially more expensive the bigger venue you go to. We spent $7000 this past year at the MVPAC just replacing our Main Amplifiers and the System Processor. It's an 800 seat venue and the Sound System all together cost around $80,000 from Mics to Speakers and everything in between. It really starts adding up.

Here's my advice list:

1. Buy the Yamaha Sound Reinforcement Handbook and treat it as the Audio Bible.
2. After reading that, remind yourself that you DON'T KNOW EVERYTHING. If you forget that fact, you will be reminded (gently or not-so-gently) of it when you stick your foot in your mouth.
3. Remember that there are no stupid questions, only stupid people.