Source Four Leko for Filmmaking - lamp burned out immediately

Hello all,

As title suggests, I bought a Source Four Leko 750 to use for indie filmmaking. I have some experience with these lights from working as a volunteer stagehand and periodically on film sets, but am by no means an electrician and feel like I'm in over my head. Saw lots of good info on this forum, figured some of you all could advise me how to move forward.

Within 15 minutes of getting the source four built in my living room, the lamp burned out. I had the light plugged into a 1000w impact dimmer, and was testing the dimming level when a flicker happened and the lamp died. To note, the dimmer added a noticeable hum to the light. The more I dimmed, the louder the hum.

Specs:
Source four leko 750 (purchased from usedlighting.com)
Ushio HPL Lamp (750w/120v)
Impact D-1000 AC Dimmer Control 15-Amps
Edison Plug (15amp/125v - I replaced the bates plug with this Edison from a local hardware store)

I have not checked the voltage of my apartment's outlets. Is that something I should have done? Will I need to do this with every outlet I use? (planning to use in residential houses for an evening sun effect).

I did not touch the bulb prior to placing in the S4, so oils should not have been the issue. Was this probably just bad luck, or am I doing something wrong? Do any of the parts I am using bring up red flags? I used the lamp for about 10 minutes without the dimmer and was not having any issues, my hunch says the dimmer might've had something to do with it.

Thank you for your time,

Attachments

• IMG_20200329_101152.jpg
    IMG_20200329_101152.jpg
    348.4 KB · Views: 250
  • IMG_20200329_101137.jpg
    IMG_20200329_101137.jpg
    757.5 KB · Views: 263
  • IMG_20200328_195052.jpg
    IMG_20200328_195052.jpg
    362.4 KB · Views: 266