'Stacking' Projectors Horizontally

Hello!

I'm fairly new to the world of video and the venue I work in has recently acquired two 14k Christie projectors.

The setup in our booth has necessitated installing them around 4-5' apart and I've noticed when I overlay the images on each other that there is a slight difference in horizontal scale or stretch due to the different angles they are shooting onto the surface.

I can tweak the keystoning so that the difference is minimal, maybe a few pixels on the test patterns at centre. The difference isn't really apparent when an image is displayed but I've had a picky video artist go crazy over it.

Can anyone please offer any tips on how to resolve this problem?

Thank you.

Push them closer together if you can. Then have them shoot parallel to each other.

So if they are like this / \ then your gonna have a tougher time than if they were | |. Then you could just do a lens shift and not keystone which like you said doesn’t line it up exactly.

Make sure that both are exactly perpendicular to the screen, then use the lens shift to align them. Any digital alignment such as keystone correction will distort the image.

Hello!

I'm fairly new to the world of video and the venue I work in has recently acquired two 14k Christie projectors.

The setup in our booth has necessitated installing them around 4-5' apart and I've noticed when I overlay the images on each other that there is a slight difference in horizontal scale or stretch due to the different angles they are shooting onto the surface.

I can tweak the keystoning so that the difference is minimal, maybe a few pixels on the test patterns at centre. The difference isn't really apparent when an image is displayed but I've had a picky video artist go crazy over it.

Can anyone please offer any tips on how to resolve this problem?

Thank you.
@staticblanket Idle curiosity; where are you: Hamilton Place, Aquarius, Mohawk???
Toodleoo!