Stage dressing in a road house?

JudyJoe

Hello Folks,
I'm a newbie both to the ControlBooth and to my job as Head Tech (started in October 09) at the Playhouse.

The Playhouse is a road house and shows are generally music, everything from rock bands, orchestras, classical music duets/quartets, etc. For 9-10 months a year, we run the gamut of different acts. For these shows, we normally do the black upstage traveler with black legs & borders. But the crew & the audience are starting to get bored with the look...a black box with some cool lights.

We've received a budget to purchase items that will "dress up" the stage for the shows that come in. So far, we've purchased black skirting for our risers. We already have white sheer legs in stock which we are starting to use again. We're also looking at spandex socks to hang & light, some new oriental carpets, and some small tables for artists to put their water, picks, etc. on.

Here's the question - we're not thinking outside the box for stage dressing, does the collective hive have any ideas or suggestions for me?

Many thanks!
Judy

What kind of music events are coming in? Are we talking 4 guys and a van or a tour bus with a 24' or 53' truck? Do any of the events carry an LD or does a house guy run the lighting?

First thing you should do is take your borders to a higher trim and get a hazer. Rugs help as well if thats the type of people you are bringing in.

Biggest thing that will add flair to the shows though is lighting. Something as simple as a color changing cyc and backlight can help a ton. What is your current lighting rig looking like?