Strand Architectural preset panel issues

norwintd

Member
Fight Leukemia
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Location
Irwin, PA
Hello All
I have a Strand Lighting system. With CD80sv rack and what I believe is Outlook series Architectural panels all circa 2004-05 era. I had the cd80sv brain serviced two years ago everything was fine for a while but now I am having some issues.
When I press the preset buttons sometimes they work fine sometimes the button lights up but the preset doesn't actually come on . I have two plain eight button panels and one panel that has an lcd that you can scroll through a preset list. The weird part is that all three panels do this. sometimes they work fine sometimes they dont. different panels , different buttons, different presets doesn't seem to matter. it almost seems like the rack doesn't get the signal. I might have to press the button a few times, pausing a few seconds in between then it will go. There doesn't seem to be a rhyme or reason to it.
Any ideas or experience would be appreciated.
I was hoping to solve it without a service call but if i don't find a solution I will probably just call Vincent Lighting since they installed it and serviced the module.
 

RonHebbard

Well-Known Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Location
Waterdown, ON, CA
Hello All
I have a Strand Lighting system. With CD80sv rack and what I believe is Outlook series Architectural panels all circa 2004-05 era. I had the cd80sv brain serviced two years ago everything was fine for a while but now I am having some issues.
When I press the preset buttons sometimes they work fine sometimes the button lights up but the preset doesn't actually come on . I have two plain eight button panels and one panel that has an lcd that you can scroll through a preset list. The weird part is that all three panels do this. sometimes they work fine sometimes they dont. different panels , different buttons, different presets doesn't seem to matter. it almost seems like the rack doesn't get the signal. I might have to press the button a few times, pausing a few seconds in between then it will go. There doesn't seem to be a rhyme or reason to it.
Any ideas or experience would be appreciated.
I was hoping to solve it without a service call but if i don't find a solution I will probably just call Vincent Lighting since they installed it and serviced the module.
Calling @bharrell
Toodleoo!
Ron Hebbard
 

Mac Hosehead

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Location
Shark Tank
If I was to guess at the problem, I would try swapping the processor with a spare. Unfortunately, this would normally require a service call from someone who has one.

As far as I know, there are no drop-in replacements for any Outlook stations.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RonHebbard

microstar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2014
Location
Lawton, OK
If I was to guess at the problem, I would try swapping the processor with a spare. Unfortunately, this would normally require a service call from someone who has one.

As far as I know, there are no drop-in replacements for any Outlook stations.
It should be pretty easy to retrofit some Fleenor PRE10A preset panels if there is a DMX feed from the control console and the Outlook wiring is in conduit or DMX compatible.
 

Mac Hosehead

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Location
Shark Tank
It should be pretty easy to retrofit some Fleenor PRE10A preset panels if there is a DMX feed from the control console and the Outlook wiring is in conduit or DMX compatible.
I imagine the wire for Outlook could probably carry DMX. However, multiple Fleenor panels require more than just daisy-chaining them together.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RonHebbard

microstar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2014
Location
Lawton, OK
I imagine the wire for Outlook could probably carry DMX. However, multiple Fleenor panels require more than just daisy-chaining them together.
The DMX is daisy-chained from the console thru the preset panels and then to the dimmer rack. The low-voltage power is daisy-changed between preset panels.
Not sure what else you are referring to unless it is the need to have the power supply and its wiring in addition to the DMX but the Outlook panels would be similar.

fleenorPRE10A.png
 

Mac Hosehead

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Location
Shark Tank
After looking at the diagram, I believe I stand corrected. I think I was confusing a different Fleenor panel. This and other factors when moving to different architectural panels I consider to be best worked out with a dealer. And, the problem is most likely in the dimmer processor.

Johnson Systems also has retrofit solutions for control stations and dimmer processors in Strand racks.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RonHebbard

robmonty

Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2008
Location
Alberta Canada
Hi Did you resolve this problem? There are a number of Strand control stations that look the same, and just have different processors in the button units. If there is a separate wall mounted box with its own processor, then you likely have Premiere stations. If the stations are connected directly to the dimmer rack, then you likely have Outlook stations. Its also possible that you may have a station running as a SWC system wide control station. The SWC and Outlook run directly into the dimmer processor.
DO you have the programming guide for any of these stations? Since all three are doing the same thing, it may be a programming issue.
The wire that runs to the stations is usually 3 shielded pair 22 gauge. It does not transmit DMX between stations.
I hope this helps.

Rob Montgomery
 

Users who are viewing this thread