The above Ad will no longer appear after you Sign Up for Free!

Control/Dimming Strand MX, MXTERM, 9 pin serial?

Discussion in 'Lighting and Electrics' started by TheDonkey, Nov 22, 2008.

1. TheDonkey

TheDonkey Active Member

OhJeez, my first non-intro thread.

Short Version:
    Is it possible to find/build a cheap cable that'll let me plug the 25 Pin Strand MX serial port into a 9 pin serial port and use MXTERM?

Really long version: (Sorryz)
    I'm currently a high school student that's taken an extreme liking to tech theater arts, particularly lighting. So much so, that in 6 months, I've had various people with various levels of expertise claim that I know more about our system than anyone else in the school.

The problem with our system, of course, is that it's pretty **** old. The school itself is almost 100 years old.

We currently have and use a Strand MX, fairly decent board, not even close to what the real world uses, but not too bad overall.
    Soon as I found out the model, I went and got the manual, in the manual, I found the interesting little tidbit with the connecting to a computer and running a GUI app of sorts.

I immediately jumped on it, talked to the IT guys about getting a second computer in the booth to run as a console, and got the "project" approved, just waiting on them to find something crappy enough to run Dos without wasting power.

After I got approved(last week) I went in and started reading every line of the MXTERM part of the MX manual, and realized something tragic.

Up until that moment, I thought that the MX used a standard LPT parallel port and just wrongly stated it as a serial port.

And I only now realized that what it was referencing to was the 25 pin old style serial port, now I'm not sure, but I don't think that the computer/laptop the IT guys will find will have a "25 pin RS232" port, so I'm looking for some aid.