The above Ad will no longer appear after you Sign Up for Free!

Stress Skin SKINs

Discussion in 'Scenery, Props, and Rigging' started by tdtastic, Jul 13, 2018 at 9:24 PM.

1. tdtastic

tdtastic Member

Technical Director/ Designer
    Taking a poll: what do you skin your stress-skin platforms or 'triscuits' with and why? How do you like to attach your top surface for max hold without putting a thousand holes in your stock platforms.

Our shop has been using MDF for a while, and frankly we're tired of moving that heavy crap around. We also use 1/4" tempered Masonite quite a lot.

Would love to hear what other folk like to do.

Last edited: Jul 13, 2018 at 11:03 PM
    RonHebbard likes this.
  2. Colin

Colin Active Member

Technical Director
    Do you mean material for the actual stressed skin? I've never seen anything other than 1/2" and thicker plywood used. I am not an engineer but I wouldn't be comfortable using anything other than a structural panel, which no MDF or hardboard is as far as I know. Use those to cover the platforms for painting, not for strength. Plus the less MDF in your life the happier your muscles and lungs and saw blades will be.

There are other threads discussing process, and Yale if not others have published theirs.

3. gafftapegreenia

gafftapegreenia CBMod CB Mods

Prop-tart
    I wish I could help, as I see them discussed here on CB quite often, but I don’t think I’ve ever built one, or used one.

4. bobgaggle

bobgaggle Well-Known Member

Shop Foreman
    I've gotten away with a one off stress skinned ramp with Luan on top and bottom. Home Depot pink foam in between framing members. Span was maybe 6' long if I remember, and it had to be carried on stage by one actor, so low weight was a priority. The thing worked, but we were all pretty skeptical about it's longevity. Fortunately only one guy walked up it at a time, no dancing on it haha.

Skins were attached with spray on contact adhesive and narrow crown staples...