Study Stage Management at Berkeley/University of Washington?

JonasA

Hi all,

My Australian university offers 2nd year students the opportunity to undertake a 12-month study exchange to either Berkeley (University of California) or the University of Washington. As a dual Aust/US citizen, this appeals to me greatly, but I'm unsure of the quality of the courses.

Has anyone had any experience studying/teaching/working at either of these universities?
I'm studying Production with a major in Stage Management and a minor in Performance Technology at the University of Melbourne, so my interest is primarily in those fields. I have very little interest in a course which will require me to take performing subjects, but it wouldn't kill me to take one such subject as part of a more technical course. I'm really wondering about quality of teaching, opportunities provided to students and workload: I'm currently being taught by a successful career SM and LD (although neither are academics), on campus up to 60 hours per week during peak periods and getting opportunities to network with people at major companies throughout the state. Is this what I can expect in the US?

Thanks in advance for anything anyone can share; the university websites are (not unusually) uninformative about how much actual work is involved, etc. and I want my decision to be as informed as possible before I commit to the process of moving across the world for a year.

/Jonas

Hi all,

My Australian university offers 2nd year students the opportunity to undertake a 12-month study exchange to either Berkeley (University of California) or the University of Washington. As a dual Aust/US citizen, this appeals to me greatly, but I'm unsure of the quality of the courses.

Has anyone had any experience studying/teaching/working at either of these universities?