Loudspeakers Subwoofers and Live Musical Theater

Silicon_Knight

I am a volunteer tech manager (as well as sound mixer/light operator) for my church, and we produce 3-4 musical theater productions each year (one of which we take on tour). We started with borrowing equipment from various members as it was needed, but I am trying to slowly acquire equipment for the church so that we can start to have a consistent setup on which we can rely.

We have some powered PAs, a good mixer in a rolling rack, amps for monitors, wireless receivers, graphic EQs, etc. The next purchase I am weighing is whether subs would actually add anything. As I understand it, for music, splitting the very low freqs to subs can be a great way to clean up the muddiness out of the PAs and improve the intelligibility of the vocals.

My question is, for musical theater, will subs really make any significant difference? (At this time, we are not mic'ing the bass guitar (when present) or drums).

As an aside, our challenge is often that the live music is too loud. Especially when on the road with unknown venues - any bright ideas?

Totally depends on your show and budget constraints. I always have a L/R sub setup at a minimum if I can manage it, but that is just to give me some flexibility and have a place to route my Piano Low mic, Kick, and Bass. It cleans up some intelligibility in the mains, and gives me the LF extension I want for the instruments that need it. Also, if I have any fun SFX like thunderstorms or whatnot, they have a place to go. If you're doing a show like Hair, you'll want subs for sure. If you're doing Hello Dolly, I don't see a huge benefit from having subs when you can focus your money on other places in the sound system you will need it.