Vintage Lighting Tarnex for restoring old wiring ballast

ship

Senior Team Emeritus
Premium Member
So the ceramic cores to these copper spring resisters were too badly damaged to just epoxy back together. This fixture got dropped in destroying both the casters (TBD separate project & just as interesting in unique casters) and the ceramic support for the heater resistance as it were for sustaining the arc. Have the ceramic glue, but waiting on McMaster to special order the bonding agent recommended from spec. to properly glue back together these parts of the resistor core support. It's over a hundred years old and too fragile to thoroughly clean the broken parts. Bonding agent will be needed before doing I'm thinking at this point, Cotronics Resbond #940LE I have a lot of experience working with to glue the parts back together with. The other choice was #907, have a can but years since, it's solid now. Can't see buying another given the other in two part is still fresh and will work.

In the mean time in not starting the light fixture itself yet, I have time to work on the core winding - especially while waiting on a replacement cover for the ballast to be welded up. Took well over an hour to sand blast the housing for this ballast, than more hours to cut 1" 16ga box tubing into angle iron so as to make a cover. Why cut box tubing into angle iron? Because normal steel angle iron would be rounded over on the concave side and not work. Waiting to get the original box back with new cover from the welding shop.