Teach Old Dog New Tricks

Ian Sk.

I’m new to this site but wow’d with the content, experience and the expertise of people here.
My question: My lighting and stagecraft experience stopped for the most part after I graduated from high school in 1974.
My son’s school will be opening their new performing arts center in January 2020.
The current Arts Director gets help for lighting/sets from a local community theater.
I’m told that the new lighting there will be all LED instruments.
So this old dog needs to learn new tricks so we can use the new theater to it’s fullest.
Please remember the last instruments I touched were incandescent lekos ,fresnals and strip/border lights.
Are there any courses/classes/workshops I can take to learn about the new technology.
I’m in Connecticut 2 hours from NYC and about 2 1/2 from Boston.
Thank you for any help pointing me in the right direction.

I’m new to this site but wow’d with the content, experience and the expertise of people here.
My question: My lighting and stagecraft experience stopped for the most part after I graduated from high school in 1974.
My son’s school will be opening their new performing arts center in January 2020.
The current Arts Director gets help for lighting/sets from a local community theater.
So this old dog needs to learn new tricks so we can use the new theater to it’s fullest.
Please remember the last instruments I touched were incandescent lekos ,fresnals and strip/border lights.
Are there any courses/classes/workshops I can take to learn about the new technology.