Telex Btr-800 three base station connection

Jumin Kim

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2017
Location
South-Korea
hello
I have to use 12x tr800 bodypacks with 4-wire rj11 connection from clearcom matrix rj45 . I found pinout rj11 and rj45 of clearcom matrix.
but how to connect three btr800 base station? I would like to inquire about this.

i know how to link two base station but
I have never use linked three btr800 station at the same time.
is it possible 2w XLR links compatible 4wire rj11 socket?
please help me...
 

themuzicman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Location
On Tour
What model of Clearcom are you using to drive the 4-Wire to the BTR's? You're probably better off driving the entire BTR system from just the 2-Wire. The advantage to the 4-Wire is that you do get 6dB of gain (3dB on the Talk and 3dB on the receive side) when interfacing with the Clearcom, the disadvantage is that it requires more gear -- but knowing the other half of the equation will lead to a better answer.

As to your question about interfacing 4WR RJ11 to 2WR XLR, that's not going to happen without something like a Clearcom IF4W4. 4 Wire has two wires for Send and 2 Wires for Receive, the 2 Wire has Send and Receive all on a single pair, you need a device to interface those circuits.
 

Jumin Kim

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2017
Location
South-Korea
i hear what you are saying. thank you.
i don't know yet what kind of clearcom matrix model.
is it possible that 2 base stations (btr-800, not btr-80N) link through 4wire RJ11 ?

What
's your opinion about this attached diagram ?
4 wire link frame1.jpg

has anyone ever done this? ( cable is cat5 utp, RJ11 and RJ45 connector for cables.)

my purpose is about using WTA function of 8 tr800 bodypacks and 4wire link with matrix. without 2 wire party line.

thank you for reading my story...
 

themuzicman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Location
On Tour
You're now talking about two different functions -- 4Wr vs 2Wr are different functions than the WTA.

You're not going to be able to interface 3x BTR's for WTA -- the Base Station Link RJ45 port is what carries the WTA when using a Main/Secondary configuration of 2x BTR-800's, it does not carry any actual Intercom signal. However, interfacing 2x BTR's for WTA is very easy, you set up a single BTR to Transmit, both receive, and then link the two stations together with a straight RJ45 cable. This will give you 8x Beltpacks.

Your diagram deals with Intercom, not WTA, and negates any benefit of a 4 Wire system, you have literally just turned 4 Wire into 2 Wire with that diagram in a roundabout manner. While you could probably get away with that, I wouldn't suggest it -- I would try to get the correct interface for the job, or learn to see what sort of Matrix you are using and in-turn a better solution can probably be found.
 

Jumin Kim

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2017
Location
South-Korea
You're now talking about two different functions -- 4Wr vs 2Wr are different functions than the WTA.

You're not going to be able to interface 3x BTR's for WTA -- the Base Station Link RJ45 port is what carries the WTA when using a Main/Secondary configuration of 2x BTR-800's, it does not carry any actual Intercom signal. However, interfacing 2x BTR's for WTA is very easy, you set up a single BTR to Transmit, both receive, and then link the two stations together with a straight RJ45 cable. This will give you 8x Beltpacks.

Your diagram deals with Intercom, not WTA, and negates any benefit of a 4 Wire system, you have literally just turned 4 Wire into 2 Wire with that diagram in a roundabout manner. While you could probably get away with that, I wouldn't suggest it -- I would try to get the correct interface for the job, or learn to see what sort of Matrix you are using and in-turn a better solution can probably be found.

Could you offer me a cheap gears? am i forced to choice these EF-701M, IF4W4 ?
 

themuzicman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Location
On Tour
Could you offer me a cheap gears? am i forced to choice these EF-701M, IF4W4 ?
I would suggest you get the full scope of your intercom picture before looking at more gear, find the model of the Matrix station and see if it has additional 4 Wire outputs in it. A lot of matrix stations are card-expandable so it could be as simple as seeing if you have additional 4 Wire cards available.

Intercom is not cheap, you have listed the current-gen Clearcom. Telex makes offerings and you can always look at legacy gear (i.e. Clearcom IF4-B). I'm sure there are rental houses in your area that carry this stuff.
 

Jumin Kim

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2017
Location
South-Korea
I would suggest you get the full scope of your intercom picture before looking at more gear, find the model of the Matrix station and see if it has additional 4 Wire outputs in it. A lot of matrix stations are card-expandable so it could be as simple as seeing if you have additional 4 Wire cards available.

Intercom is not cheap, you have listed the current-gen Clearcom. Telex makes offerings and you can always look at legacy gear (i.e. Clearcom IF4-B). I'm sure there are rental houses in your area that carry this stuff.

thank you for your reply.
I decided using 2 wire for 3 BTR base stations.
 

Jumin Kim

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2017
Location
South-Korea
You're now talking about two different functions -- 4Wr vs 2Wr are different functions than the WTA.

You're not going to be able to interface 3x BTR's for WTA -- the Base Station Link RJ45 port is what carries the WTA when using a Main/Secondary configuration of 2x BTR-800's, it does not carry any actual Intercom signal. However, interfacing 2x BTR's for WTA is very easy, you set up a single BTR to Transmit, both receive, and then link the two stations together with a straight RJ45 cable. This will give you 8x Beltpacks.
i had a few of questions while testing WTA function of 2 BTR-800.
the result of my test is enable WTA talk on 'Main' Btr bodypack,
not enable WTA talk on 'Secondary' Btr bodypack.
is this normal?

why is using the same freq. band base station?
there is not shown in manual.
does it matter what same Group Tx freq. of two base stations or not?


and then link the two stations together with a straight RJ45 cable.
only cat cable? no need 2w XLR cable?
 

themuzicman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Location
On Tour
i had a few of questions while testing WTA function of 2 BTR-800.
the result of my test is enable WTA talk on 'Main' Btr bodypack,
not enable WTA talk on 'Secondary' Btr bodypack.
is this normal?

why is using the same freq. band base station?
there is not shown in manual.
does it matter what same Group Tx freq. of two base stations or not?
It's in the manual -- page 5-11, in both text and detailed in a drawing. You will only get WTA functionality from the first two base stations linked together, and then the third base station will be on its own WTA.

WTA (wireless talk-about) is NOT the same as 2Wr or 4Wr intercom. WTA is wireless only beltpack to belt pack communication, and does not involve any wired system.

When linking two base stations, your first has transmit enabled, the second has transmit disabled. You connect your 2WR channels as normal, and then you connect the Cat5 Cable. The 2WR gives you communication to the wired intercom, the RJ45 gives you WTA link between base stations.


only cat cable? no need 2w XLR cable?
If you only need WTA and DO NOT need to talk to the wired intercom, then you only need the Cat5 cable. If you want WTA AND access to the wired intercom system, then you need it all.
 

Jumin Kim

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2017
Location
South-Korea
Yes, the RJ45 will give you WTA between TWO base stations, for a total of EIGHT belt packs. You will still need to connect the XLR if you want it to talk to your 2WR system.
i tried again second testing today, with 2 base station and linked 2w PL.
i made it! thank you.
but WTA talk volume of beltpack adjusting is available?
listening WTA volume in another BP is less than normal talk volume.
can i controll only IN, OUT Level knob of front base station and Gain of beltpack?
 

Sounddude80

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2018
Location
Las Vegas
Hey, I just stumbled upon this thread and thought I would offer my insight about the WTA question. Hopefully I'm not too late to the party to help you out.

You actually can link up more than two BTR800 units. The way it's done is through use of two RDL stick-on mixers. One for each 'A' & 'B' side of the WTA function. You will plug in a cat5 cable into the main BTR800 that you have the transmitter enabled on. On the other end of the cable will be bare and you will take the two conductors designated for A+/- (which are 4 &5) and connect them to the 'output' of your 'A' mixer. Then take the other two conductors for WTA B (7 & 8) and connect them to the output of the 'B' RDL mixer.

Now, for each 'slave' base station(in other words, base stations that will not be using the transmitter) perform the same task(connecting a cat5 connector at the base with bare conductors on the mixer side) and connect those same leads to the 'input' of the RDL mixer. Keeping in mind the appropriate conductor for the appropriate channels. Adjust levels as necessary and voila, you can hook up WTA to serve more than two BTR800's.

Good luck,

Sounddude80
 

Users who are viewing this thread