Temporary Marley Dance floor on the cheap

TheaterEd

Renaissance Man
Fight Leukemia
Alright, so I have a group wanting to rent my facility and they will need to have barefoot dancers. I'm not comfortable with them dancing barefoot on our wooden stage. The stage is in good condition, but it still has its chips and divots that I don't want to turn into splinters or worse. Renting a marley floor around here is going to cost between $500 and $600. Considering our rental fee is only around $1000 it seems cost prohibitive for this non-profit group.

So I was researching options and came across this thread. Which lead me to finding this product. What do you all think? Could roofing underlayment be the answer? $150 including tape, and they can hang onto it if they want to rent our stage next year.

Note, I am a high school aud manager with no interest in getting into the dance recital game, so I won't be investing in my own marley any time soon. But for these cultural events, this might be a solid option.

After digging through the specs on the material I would have to say , No, this is not what you want to use. This product is described as synthetically bonded Polyfin strands; It's felt. besides tearing up feet I highly doubt is has any give. Even with thin Marley the point is that it cushions the impact and provides consistent friction. I also do not think you could hold this stuff down by simply rolling it out.
The material they are talking about in that first thread you linked to is EDPM, I think. Which is a rubber product used for pond liners and as an under-layment for some roofing products. It is heavy enough to stay down but it's stretchy and the seams are impossible to tape without using some really toxic cement or really thick Butyl tape.